Brain injuries, including concussions, are not a problem that only affect professional athletes. Children and youth involved in sport are more likely to suffer head injuries than any other group. More than 40 per cent of head injuries in children and youth aged 10-19 years treated in emergency departments are sustained during recreation and sport activities.

Here are some examples of how a concussion can happen. Click on each tab to see a different form of impact.

How a Concussion Occurs

The Active & Safe program provides resources to reduce the incidence and severity of a concussion, while creating the conditions for active and safer play throughout the Canadian sport system.

The project targets coaches, trainers, educators, health professionals, community leaders, parents and athletes. Our combined efforts will contribute to building capacity, engaging communities and their citizens, as well as educating and training those who deliver sport through activities that focus on concussion prevention and treatment.

Active and Safe is a collaboration among four partners:

Hockey Canada

Parachute Canada

Canadian Centre for Ethics in Sport

Coaching Association of Canada

www.hockeycanada.ca/concussions

www.parachutecanada.org/active-and-safe

www.cces.ca/activeandsafe

www.coach.ca

Funding for this project has been made possible through a contribution from the Public Health Agency of Canada. The views expressed herein do not necessarily represent the views of the Public Health Agency of Canada.

AthleteZone
Global DRO

Toolkit

See also...

Site Map | Terms | Contact Us © 2011

Les traumatismes crâniens, y compris des commotions cérébrales, ne s’agit pas d’un problème qui n’affecte que les athlètes professionnels. Les enfants et les jeunes qui pratiquent le sport sont davantage susceptibles d’être victimes de blessures à la tête que tout autre groupe. Plus de 40 pour cent des blessures à la tête subies par des enfants et des jeunes de 10 à 19 ans qui sont traitées dans les salles d’urgence se produisent durant des activités récréatives et sportives.

Voici certains exemples de commotions cérébrales. Cliquez sur chaque onglet pour consulter un type différent.

Comment se produit une commotion cérébrale?

Le programme Actifs et en sécurité fournit des ressources en vue de réduire l’incidence et la gravité des commotions cérébrales, tout en créant les conditions de jeu actif et plus sécuritaire dans l’ensemble du système sportif canadien.

Le projet vise les entraîneurs, les soigneurs, les éducateurs, les professionnels de la santé, les leaders de la communauté, les parents et les athlètes. Nos efforts combinés contribueront à renforcer les capacités, à engager les communautés et leurs citoyens, ainsi qu’à former et entraîner ceux et celles qui offrent les programmes de sport au moyen d’activités qui mettent l’accent sur la prévention et le traitement des commotions cérébrales. 

Le projet Actifs et en sécurité est une collaboration entre quatre partenaires :

Hockey Canada

Parachute Canada

Centre canadien pour l'éthique dans le sport

Association canadienne des entraîneurs

www.hockeycanada.ca/commotions

www.parachutecanada.org/actifs-et-en-securite

www.cces.ca/actifsetensecurite

www.coach.ca

Le financement de ce projet a été rendu possible grâce à une contribution de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada. Les opinions exprimées ici ne reflètent pas nécessairement celles de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada.

ZoneAthlete
DROGlobal

Outils

Voir aussi...

Carte du site | Conditions | Communiquez avec nous © 2011